Skip to content

Baby Food

February 21, 2012

I didn’t do it with Monkey.

I wanted to do it with Bruiser, but it just never happened.

I was determined to do it for Bud. And so I did.

I’m a baby-food-making-Mama now.

The main reason I wanted to make my own is that it is cheaper. A nice secondary reason is that I know exactly what’s going into his food.

I’ve bought a few jars of store-bought stuff like prunes and mango…the foods that are harder for me to make at home.

I’d like to illustrate the cost savings for you:

Here is about $4.00 worth of store-bought baby food:

Versus about $4.00 worth of homemade baby food:

Some foods I make in bulk, like carrots, these mixed veggies, or peaches and it takes about 20 minutes to steam them, then about 15 minutes to blend, package, and label them. (I don’t have any fancy baby food making device, just my regular blender). That’s nearly 10 days worth of vegetables for about 35 minutes of work. It’s even easier when I have leftovers from our dinner. I just take whatever leftover veggies we have from dinner, throw them in the blender and pour into a container. No separate cooking required.

Here’s what I’ve made for Bud so far:

Carrots, peas, beans, mixed vegetables (the first three plus corn), sweet potato, and butternut squash.

Pears, peaches, bananas, and mixed fruit.

Next up? I’m going to attempt brown rice cereal.

I don’t know why I was so afraid to make baby food before! It’s the easiest cooking I’ve ever done. (Ok, maybe right after Ramen).

Top: What would amount to about $10 of store-bought baby food. (Although I only spent $4 to make it). Bottom: $4 of store-bought baby food.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debra Gordon Gibson permalink
    February 21, 2012 3:48 pm

    Yea, there’s no going back. I started doing this with child #1 when the baby food in the store kinda grossed me out. When child #2 came along, I couldn’t WAIT to puree food! LOL! Glad you went with it this time around!!!!! ;o)

  2. Mrs. Winona M. Witowski permalink
    February 22, 2012 6:17 pm

    Fantastic! It surely is well worth all of your efforts.

Leave a Reply

