Skip to content

Art Day

February 20, 2012

Fridays around here are “fun days.” The Chief has every other Friday off, so it was a natural day for me to choose to be our “day off” from school. I teach the boys Monday-Thursday for about an hour and a half-two hours a day. Fridays, we save for projects, art, or field trips.

I’d been meaning to share this project idea for a while now, because we all had so much fun with it.

My boys are not big into coloring. It is much more of a chore than an activity for them. They do, however, like to paint.

I heard about this nifty little trick to make a watercolor resistant line.

Black glue.

You simply take a partly empty bottle of Elmers, and squirt in some black acrylic paint. (Start with about a tablespoon and add as necessary. You only need enough to change the color, otherwise it becomes too drippy). Shake and use.

Use the black glue to draw a picture on paper and let it dry overnight.

The lines will be slightly raised and will resist the watercolor paint, so you are left with a nice crisp picture in the end.

I free-handed this little ocean scene and painted it for my sample to test it out.Monkey wanted to make one just like mine. (He has ZERO creativity when it comes to thinking of things to draw, but he can copy pretty well). He tried to do the glue lines himself, but ended up with a big blob that we just turned into a large rock. Then I helped him with the rest of the glue part. He did the painting on his own.

Mine on top, Monkey's below

I traced over a turkey coloring page for our thanksgiving project.

I had so much fun with my black glue, I just didn’t want to stop! The boys were just glad I wasn’t making them color! My instruction for the turkeys was to make them colorful (they both have a tendency to use only one or two colors) and to paint every last speck of the paper. Monkey was able to get it all painted, but Bruiser was just burnt out by the end.

Here’s the rest of what they did:

So the next time you find yourself in need for a fresh idea to do with your watercolors, give black glue a try!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2012 7:07 pm

    What a great idea! We usually let the watercolors dry, then trace over them with a thin-line Sharpie. We’ll have to try the glue…

    ~ Danika
    http://thinkingkids.wordpress.com

  2. Debra Gordon Gibson permalink
    February 21, 2012 3:50 pm

    Oh my word! I love this idea! Thank you! We have Preschool Co-op coming up next week and I wanted to do a paint project..perfect! Thanks, Karen!

Leave a Reply

