Skip to content

Where My Kids At? Part 2

December 7, 2011

“Mom! Look outside! It’s Christmas!”

Knowing full well it wasn’t Christmas, I looked outside anyway.

“It snowed!” Bruiser exclaimed.

There was a lovely layer of white blanketing the earth.

It was frost.

“Can we go out and shovel?”

I had approximately 42 loads of laundry to do that day and several other things to knock off the old ‘to do’ list.

“Sure, go shovel the frost.”

I put heavy sweatshirts and mittens on them and sent them out hoping for some uninterrupted time to get my work done.

They were delightfully happy to sweep the frost off the front steps.

I checked on them a few times and they were being very good.

Then some time went by.

A little too much time.

Where are my kids at? (They’re in this picture…you just have to look real hard).

They had been out there long enough to use every one of their landscaping tools and all the frost had evaporated.

A few mysterious holes were dug in the gravel driveway.

The missing gravel was arranged in three neat piles on top of the wall.

I later learned that they were shoveling coal into the tender on their train. But, of course!

So where was my Monkey now?

Where monkeys ought to be. In a tree.

It’s a true miracle that this little tree is still standing. I didn’t have the heart to tell him not to climb it. Boys, along with monkeys, belong in trees.

It keeps my house cleaner.

(Yes, this was the same morning I lost the baby.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gelastic L=) permalink
    December 8, 2011 4:06 pm

    I was thinking in the first picture, ‘so, WHY is Monkey so much taller than Bruiser? Weird.’ Still thought that fully knowing the tree’s presence right over there!

Leave a Reply

