Skip to content

Family Cleanup Day

November 8, 2011

I’m so thankful for the blue skies and mild weather we had this past weekend. While many of our family members were still without power or cleaning up fallen trees, we were doing just the regular-old autumn yard work.

The chief sucked up the hard-to-rake leaves with his vacuum and pruned our diseased plum tree. =( Poor tree, just isn’t going to make it much longer.

Bruiser, who is usually quite the helpful one, was utterly useless. He just wanted to go for a scooter ride, and pestered us to take him every five minutes. We got him to take one load of sticks to the brush pile, but that was it. The boy was just cranky and the only thing that was going to change that was a good nap.

His big brother, on the other hand, took it upon himself to rip up the garden. You heard right. Initiative! He does have a little dose of it!

I let him know how proud I was of all his hard work. He was swinging that hoe with all his might!

After about 15 minutes of solid swinging, he was left with this:

Not too shabby for a four-year old. I thanked him much for hacking out those weeds and proceeded to help him yank out the tomato cages.

So what did I do? Well, as much as I would have liked to just take pictures of everyone, I worked too.

Wearing the baby while raking two days prior worked out pretty well. Having him on my chest, though was not the most convenient place for him. He kept getting in the way of the raking motion. Since I was not going to get out of raking, I looked for a better way to rake with the baby. Thanks to YouTube, I found my solution.

See that little red hat in the back? That’s my Bud. Sound asleep. Nice and cozy.

Here is the method I used to wrap him:

This was the very first time I ever wrapped a baby onto my back. Getting the little guy strapped on was not as easy as the mom in the video makes it look! It took me about 20 minutes, and several tries before I finally got him on. Oh the difference wearing him on my back made! It was more comfortable than wearing a backpack. I could move around as easily as I could without him.

He really seemed to like it too. It was so much nicer than wondering “is the baby awake yet?” “did I just hear him cry?” while I was working, and then find myself stopping every 15 minutes to run in and check on him.

This same wrap will even work for toddlers. For an older baby, instead of tucking their legs up froggy style, they peek out just like if they were on you piggy-back. Then the fabric that reinforces goes between their legs to hold them up.

This fabric, here:

Two certain older boys have been a bit jealous of Bud’s new mode of transportation and have been asking me to piggy-back them around the house. I may strap them on one day, just to see if I could!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alyssa permalink
    December 10, 2011 9:33 am

    Thanks for sharing! We are going to have a new little one in MAy(#5) and this looks fabulous! I can’t wait to try.

    • December 10, 2011 8:28 pm

      Congrat’s on your newest babe to come! I bought a sling with my first, but never used it as much as I thought..he just didn’t fit right. Wearing Bud all wrapped up feels so much more secure and I can still get my stuff done while he gets some lovin’. I just cut my own piece of clearance fabric, but a Maya wrap would be a great way to go if you want to buy one. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

