Skip to content

Why I am NOT a Food Blogger

October 26, 2011

I found these beautiful looking fudgy cookies while browsing through Pintrest.

They look just so delicious and on top of that they are gluten free, as there is no flour in the recipe. Several in my family can not eat gluten, so I thought it would be good to try these out and share the recipe with them.

After finding the original source of the recipe, I got to work hoping to achieve these beauties. (You can see where this is headed already, can’t you?)

I told Monkey, Bruiser, and Squirt to go grab an apron and they could come help me.

We followed the recipe exactly.

The oven beeped, and out came two sheets of these:

I was supposed to get 12 cookies on a pan. I got 10, and you can see how well that turned out!

I think I used too much egg white. It was hard to judge when the recipe says use 2-4 egg whites. You start with 2 and add one at a time more as needed. 3 was not quite enough, but apparently 4 made it too drippy.

Of course, it might not have been too much egg white, it may have been too much spilling of the dry ingredients on the floor/counter/pants etc…

That’s what happens when you cook with 3 & 4 year old chefs.

You know what else happens when you cook with 3 & 4 year old chefs?

They eat it anyway.

Even if they have to do this to get it into their mouths.

Even if the “cookie” looks like this when served on their plate.

So you know how they looked, but how did they taste?

Squirt said “Mmmm, it’s like a really smushy brownie.”

She was right. It was perhaps the best “smushy brownie” I’ve ever eaten.

Even if I had to eat it by scraping it off the pan with my spoon.

Maybe you’ll have better luck making an actual cookie out of this recipe than I did. They sure did taste fantastic. I’m willing to give it another try. Next time it’ll be after the little leaves go to bed!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lydia Hickok permalink
    October 26, 2011 4:47 pm

    I laughed out laud, even though i was trying to be quiet during nap time. That was just the best post ever.

  2. Mrs. Winona M. Witowski permalink
    October 29, 2011 3:32 am

    I think you deserve an “A” for effort. Just looking at those happy faces tells us a great deal about the success of your baking “skills.”

Trackbacks

  1. The Best Book « Twighee's Leaves

Leave a Reply

