Skip to content

Broken <3

October 19, 2011

I was met at the office door by a solomn looking Monkey. He sheepishly placed a letter on the floor without coming into to the room.

I asked him if it was for me and if I could read it now. He started to whimper and reluctantly gave me the note.

“moms. bocn. hrt.”

Mom’s broken heart.

I wasn’t feeling particularly sad, so I asked the question that was being begged:

“Why do I have a broken heart?”

“Because I don’t love you any more,” he squeaked out.

You see Monkey had been banished from the office while his brother had his iPad time. Monkey can not control his electronic urges and smothers his brother trying to be too “helpful.” I wasn’t even mad at him, I know it’s difficult to stay away from temptation…I myself have been lured to the cookie jar too many times today. (Mmmm, fresh baked Carmel Iced Pumpkin Cookies!)

To help him avoid the temptation of smothering his brother, I told him he had to do his coloring in the kitchen instead of the office. Then I told him again. The third time he came back to the office, I physically lifted him up and sat him back in his chair with a stern word of warning. That’s the one that put him over the edge and his feelings poured out onto the paper.

After Monkey interpreted the letter for me, Bruiser chimed in with an “awe that’s so sad Mommy.”

The whole episode opened up a good talk about what love really is and that he did indeed still love me, he just didn’t like what I told him to do.

He agreed that was the case.

Hugs, kisses, and I love you’s were exchanged and we went our separate ways.

Five minutes later, Bruiser came to me with a cut up paper.

“It’s to fix your broken heart. It says ‘I love you and you love me because I obey.'”

One minute I was told my heart was broken and the next thing I knew it was melting.

It may not look like much, but if you ever wanted to know what a mended heart looks like here it is:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lois permalink
    October 19, 2011 6:32 pm

    Aww, that is just so sweet …. and funny. I was trying hard not to lol in library AGAIN. i almost lost it when I read ‘After Monkey interpreted the letter for me, Bruiser chimed in with an “awe that’s so sad Mommy.”’ !!!! That was just priceless – my favorite, of course. Good thing I don’t live with you because of college. I’d not be a good help at all during all those disciplinary times since I’ll be laughing hard. 😉 Not at it but with it because, like I said, it’s just so sweet and funny. I love you and canNOT wait to see you soon!!

  2. Mrs. Winona M. Witowski permalink
    October 19, 2011 8:18 pm

    I do enjoy reading about your heartwarming experiences with your “Monkey”, “Bruiser” and Hayden. Being a parent is one of the most difficult jobs, especially when it comes to disciplining with love. But…the rewards are well worth all the efforts.Your sons will come to know God’s love is always with them (and us) even when we disobey. He just does not like the wrongdoings (sins).When I told our grandsons about Jesus washing the feet of the Apostles at the Last Supper I was hoping to convey the idea that we too are to do good things for one another.May you always be able to find the wisdom to continue parenting and teaching in a loving effective manner.

Leave a Reply

