Skip to content

Prayer Board

September 28, 2011

Now that our bedroom is back in the basement (although not basementy at all) the office room can be an office again! We have both an adult section and a kid section.

This is where the kids do their independent crafts and some of their schooling. If it were up to Monkey, all of the schooling would be done sitting at his desk. I’m trying to loosen the boy up, though and show him that we can learn anywhere. In our first week and a half of homeschooling we’ve “done school” here in the office, on the couch, at the kitchen table, in the library, and on my bed. The library one really threw him!

Anyhow, what I really wanted to show you is how we start each day.

Meet our Prayer Request Board:

I wanted to teach the children that God hears their prayers and answers them according to His will.

We have been writing requests on index cards and tacking them up each day. Monkey does not care to write. I wasn’t planning on him writing his own requests, I was just going to do all the writing. But the boy insists on writing his own. (Bonus smile!)

As an aside, you may note the orange scribble notes in the middle. Those are “thank you notes” that Monkey wrote to me for being a good teacher. =) That totally makes up for the grumbling he does when I make him do something he doesn’t like!

Back to the prayer board…

We review our requests every day and remove the answered ones to the appropriate envelope.

Sometimes God says “yes” to a little boy’s request.

And sometimes God says “no” to the mommy’s request.

If He does not say “yes” or “no” we assume we are to wait until the time is right.

I am attempting to keep these index card requests ones that will have a “yes” or “no” answer within a few months time. When Monkey told me that his request was to “stop lying” I had to let him make the card even though it will most likely be a lifelong need. It was the second day of school and he was so glad he thought of a good (not trite) request on his own.

Our requests have been rather self-centered lately and I aim to take the focus away from our own desires and towards the needs of others.

We have an evangelistic team coming to our church next week and we will take one of their prayer cards and start a missionary prayer list off to the side.

Also instead of always asking for things, I am going to have the boys start to think of things we can praise and thank God for. I’ll write those attributes on colorful paper to float all over that wall.

It will be a good reminder for me to not pray so selfishly too!

“…Lord, teach us to pray…” Luke 11:1

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 3:48 pm

    Nice Blog 🙂

    jabelah.wordpress.com

  2. Laura permalink
    October 5, 2011 2:22 pm

    I love this idea. I have been trying to get a good system down here too to remember others, missionaries, and such rather than just praying for the same thing all the time at bedtime with Mikayla. I have some ideas in my head that have been floating there for a while and have never gotten out of my head and into action. I love the yes – no envelopes too!

Leave a Reply

