Skip to content

First Day

September 20, 2011

The first day for so many other Kindergarteners happened several weeks ago. For us, it happened yesterday.

I like saying it already. Our own schedule…learning at our own pace…tailored to the needs of my children.

I realize that I’m only two days into this adventure of homeschooling,  but I like it. I like it very much.

The boys enjoyed it as well, even though one of them won’t admit it.

At lunch yesterday, I asked each of them:

“What was your favorite part about school this morning?”

Bruiser: “Nuhfing.”

Monkey: “Everything!”

We started the day with school pictures.

Monkey: 4.75 years old - Kindergarten

Bruiser: 3.5 years old - Preschool

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bud was a very good boy chillin’ out in the swing for the first part of school and then came to join us for his morning snack while I read to everyone.

While I’m not going to run through all the activities we did yesterday, I will write now and then about things we do in school.

The goal for day 1 was simply to enjoy school and have fun.

We met that goal.

In fact one of our big goals for the whole year is very similar: to instill a love of learning that will carry on with them through the rest of their lives.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debra Gordon Gibson permalink
    September 20, 2011 4:55 pm

    Love it, Karen. I also am enjoying saying the entire phrase of “learning our own way, own pace, own style…etc.” We just started last week and it’s been nothing but fun. I’m constantly amazed at how much my 2 year old is picking up just by being in the same room. It makes me think that every year is going to look different than the previous and PreK for my 2nd might actually look more like K b/c she will have already picked up a lot of basic knowledge. All in all, I am having such fun being the one to teach my girls… ;o)

Leave a Reply

