Skip to content

Matchmaking

August 6, 2011

We were at Squirt’s house last night and got home a little after 12:00 am. When tucking my partly sleepy Monkey in bed upon our return I asked him:

Me: Are you still my boy or have you grown into a man?

Monkey: (with a smirk) I’m still a boy.

Me: Oh, good. I wasn’t ready for you to be a man quite yet.

Monkey: Why?

Me: Because then you wouldn’t be living with me anymore. Grown-up men don’t usually live with their mommy.

Monkey: But if I don’t live with you, who would be my helper?

Me: Well, God might have a wife for you to marry. If He wants you to get married, He knows just who the perfect girl is for you.

Monkey: And she will be my helper like you are Daddy’s helper?

Me: You’ve got it Buddy. Do you know we can pray for your wife right now?

Monkey: *grins* (Then we prayed for his future wife before he fell asleep).

Dear Future Mrs. Monkey,

I just want you to know, we all love you already, whoever you are. And I’m doing my best to make sure Monkey doesn’t need TOO much help! =)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lydia hickok permalink
    August 6, 2011 10:00 pm

    That may very well be on of the sweetest things I have ever read. Ever.

  2. August 8, 2011 7:19 pm

    And that woman will be blessed with such a great mother-in-law!

Leave a Reply

