Skip to content

Guessing Game

July 30, 2011
tags: , ,

Ever since Bud’s ultrasound at 19 weeks I’ve thought he was a boy mostly because when the technician measured the femur I believe she used the same angle they do to determine sex. After having two boys and watching several ultrasounds, I’m pretty sure I saw some manhood down there. I looked away when she checked for gender and none of us ever found out definitively.

Monkey and Bruiser have insisted that Bud is a girl from the beginning. Around the house, we call the baby “Colocity” (a name the Monkey came up with) and tend to refer to her as a girl.

On the blog I tend to write about Bud in the masculine.

Until the last few weeks I’ve maintained my thought that Bud is a boy. I’m not so sure anymore. This baby feels different now. I’m feeling wider and a little smaller than I did with the boys. I can’t seem to get rid of the acne on my face (extra girl hormones)? I’ve got an overwhelming desire to buy little girl clothes (ok, that’s probably just my wishful thinking). And we’re settled on a girl name, but not a boy name.

Would you care to take a guess?

Will this baby turn out to be a little flower Bud?

Or a little Buddy?

Feel free to take a stab at the date, time, weight, height, and hours of labor too!

For reference:

Monkey came a week early due to a scheduled c-section, weighed 7#4oz and was 19.5″ long

Bruiser came two days early (the day after I had my membranes stripped) after 27.5 hours of labor, weighed 7# 15oz and was 20.5″ long

So how about Bud?

I am technically due August 8th and have been having more frequent braxton-hicks contractions lately. They have been very mild. No other signs of impending labor have shown up yet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lydia hickok permalink
    July 30, 2011 10:27 pm

    Well, being partial to girls, I am going to say, “GIRL!”

    Stats:

    August 9th, 7lbs. 5oz., 20″ long.

    Love you friend.

    With Stephen looking for jobs, the idea of moving to your neck of the woods has been brought up. I miss having a friend like you close around. I would love to see you big belly in person and meet your sweet little one.

    Woohoo for midwives and doing stuff as naturally as possible! Super proud of you!

    Give your mister a hug from us!

  2. July 31, 2011 7:41 am

    Ok, I’ll take a stab at it. I’m saying a boy, on Aug 7, at 8 lb 1 oz and 20 in long, named Dallas o’paddy. Well, some of that may or may not be right. ; P

Leave a Reply

