Skip to content

Bud: Week 37 & 38

July 28, 2011
tags: ,

What a crazy week this has been! The mornings have been filled with swimming lessons for the boys, the afternoons have been a mandatory nap for all, and the evenings were spent at VBS. Repeat x 5. Then the day after that routine ended we got a weekend visit from my sister and her boyfriend. They drove all the way from CT just to spend 2 days with us! Although short, it was a very good and packed-full weekend. (More on that to come in the basement remodel final post…it’s coming, really!)

Pregnancy-wise it was a difficult week because of the weather. The full-schedule was ok, but the weather was the hardest part. The 90+ degree days with obnoxious humidity forced us to live inside with the overworked air-conditioner. VBS at our unair-conditioned church wasn’t so pleasant, but with plenty of water and a breeze from the fans we all made it through.

As of my midwife appointment today, here’s where things are at:

Weight Gain: +40 pounds. Yikes! I am currently tied for heaviest I’ve ever been. This is where I topped out with my other two pregnancies. Not too thrilled about the number, but strangely I feel smaller than I did with either of the boys. I’ve been eating healthier this time around too.

What’s different this time:

1. At this point in my last pregnancy, Bruiser had dropped and I could no longer walk like a normal person. I couldn’t even cross my legs. I can still walk without a waddle.

2. I have NO backache! With Monkey (the little breech) I had such an aching back at the end, I went and bought a vibrating massage pillow that I used constantly. Bruiser gave me a more mild ache that turned piercing in labor. Ever since going to the chiropractor, I haven’t had any achyness in my back or hips. I really think it’s helped a lot. I will certainly be visiting the chiropractor in future pregnancies!

3. Heartburn is minimal. I don’t remember which one it was, but one of the boys gave me terrible heartburn, the other just moderate. Again, only since visiting the chiropractor, has my heartburn this time greatly diminished.

4. I feel better. I just feel so much better this time around.

Symptoms: Tired, very very tired. Way more tired this time around. Perhaps it’s because I’m keeping up with two very energetic boys all day, but I just can’t make it through the day without an afternoon nap.

Cravings/Aversions: Nothing really. I’ve been trying to drink red raspberry leaf tea because it is very beneficial to the health of the uterus. I really dislike tea in nearly all forms and have found that mixing it with frozen limeade concentrate (diluted) makes for a pretty tasty summer drink. So far it’s the easiest way for me to get it down.

Sleep: The bathroom call wakes me up about three times a night and lately Bruiser has been getting up once a night to use the bathroom too which wakes me. Otherwise sleep is good. I sleep in a “nest” of 5 pillows surrounding me. It’s about the only way I can get comfortable. I love my nest/I love my nest/in all the world/my nest is best! (or something like that, trying from memory here…)

I am loving:

1. My new bedroom! I feel like I’m on vacation every time I go down there. I have my own bathroom now and space to move around the bed without banging into a wall 18″ away.

2. Swimming! Went to the town pool 3x in the last 2 weeks and it feels SO good!

I miss: Feeling like I’ve got my house in order. Our life is rather crazy at the moment and I’m ready for things to calm down a bit. (Ha, ha, ha!)

I am looking forward to: finding out the gender of this little bud that kicks me so hard!

I’m spazzing about:

1. A boy name. Still don’t have one. I’ve got a list of about 10 first names that I like. The chief is stuck on one first name and just waiting for me to come over to his side. We have no idea for a middle name. We used the grandfather’s first names for Monkey and Bruiser’s middle names. If we go up to great grandfathers, the names start to repeat, so that theme might just die. Girl name is all set.

2. The myriad of stuff that still sits on the “to do” list.

3. The baby will come before Squirt’s family comes back from vacation. The plan is for the boys to go to Squirt’s house while I’m at the hospital, but they are away until a few days before my due date. So many other people we know are away or work during the day…I’ve got to hurry and find a back up!

Milestones: I’m officially “full term.”

Movement: Still strong. Every so often I can see both feet kicking out at the same time. I get one or two braxton hicks contractions a day…quite mild.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

