Skip to content

Medical Monkey

June 28, 2011

Over the last several months Monkey has become increasingly curious about how the body works. He is fascinated by hospitals, doctors, and midwives and has been listening to “Curious George Goes to the Hospital” on CD every day at nap time for the last two months. (I don’t know how he can stand it!)

This morning he quizzed the Chief as he was getting ready for work.

“Do you know what Diabetes is?”

The Chief was totally taken back by the question.

“Um, do you know what it is?”

“Yep. When your body doesn’t work right and you have to have shots every day to stay healthy.”

The Chief didn’t know about the conversations I’d had with him the two nights before. We have a woman in our church who recently was diagnosed and we’ve been praying for her. Monkey wanted to know all about it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Just a few moments ago, Monkey said to me,

“Mom show me your two thumbs.”

I gave him a double “thumbs up” across the breakfast table.

“Oh good. The platelets came and did their job.”

He was referring to the cut on my thumb from the other day. I cut myself while slicing a bagel and he was very concerned for me. He prayed right away that God would heal it for me. It’s healing quite nicely.

This morning we’re off to the midwife where he will be full of questions once again, I’m sure.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 9:50 am

    You may have a budding doctor / nurse / EMT / biologist on your hands.

    • June 29, 2011 7:32 am

      If only he wouldn’t be so afraid of boo boo’s himself! Something I’m sure he’ll grow out of. He’s certainly got the mind for remembering all those technical things. I’m shocked by how well he remembers new medical words I tell him. Stuff just “sticks” with that boy! Just like his Daddy…

Leave a Reply

