Skip to content

Bud: Weeks 31 & 32

June 14, 2011

Week 31 has been a very busy one. I spent the week helping to get things ready for our school’s flea market. I can’t even tell you how many times I heard the phrase “Karen, you should sit and rest for a bit!” I did my best to rest, but that’s hard when you’re the one coordinating the whole thing! I was very good not to lift heavy boxes or overdo it though.

Now that the flea market it over I can rest a little more. Or so I thought. It seems that the calendar just keeps on filling up! I would really like a magic wand right about now to “poof” away some of the things I don’t want to do.

I came back from The Midwife Center a little discouraged today. Even though the midwife at my last appointment thought the baby had turned, I was a little skeptical. Baby didn’t feel much diferent although he had been flopping around a lot more lately. I believed her because I wanted to, but in my heart just knew the kid was still breech. The midwife today confirmed my suspicion. Bud is in the same frank breech position that Monkey was in. Feet on my left, head on the right, and hiney down below. It explains why the kicks are always in the same area. That “hard part” that I can feel so easily with my hands are the little guy’s feet.

At night when I’m laying down and relaxed is when the kid does most of his flipping around. I’ll feel him move his feet from the left to the right, but then he usually always ends back in the same spot. The midwife was optimistic that the baby would turn. Most babies are vertex (head down) by 35 weeks, so I have some more time. Also second (or third in my case) babies tend to have more room to move around because the uterine muscles have been stretched out and aren’t as tight as with the first baby. (My jiggly belly agrees with her statement). So I’ve got a few weeks to get my muscles relaxed and get this baby turned. I’ll try the same things I tried with Monkey and a few others I’ve read about.

On the list of things to try over the next few weeks:

Pelvic rocks

Hips elevated above head with an empty stomach

Shine a light where you want the baby’s head to go and talk to baby in the same spot as the light

Pray!

With Monkey we tried an External Cephalic Version (ECV) which ended up being quite painful and unsuccessful. (They do tend to be more successful with successive pregnancies). An ECV is certainly not risk free and it’s not something I’d like to do again. If it comes down to trying an ECV or having a c-section, I’ll try it again, but it will certainly be a last resort.

I’ve been researching more about chiropractic methods for turning a breech baby and think that’s an option I’d like try if baby doesn’t turn on his own. The idea is that the mother’s body is “out of whack” so to speak and is making it difficult for the baby to get into a vertex position. I’ve had a fair amount of back pain and my right hip gives me sharp pain now and then. It makes me wonder if those things are making hard for the baby to get where he ought to be.

If you’re interested, here’s a little video I found about the Webster Technique (the one used to help turn breech babies).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 4:09 pm

    Hey. I’ve been reading this blog lately. She had a breech baby that has since flipped. She shares some of what she did. Some of it sounds interesting, but it might be worth looking into. I’ll be praying! Pray that my baby makes his appearance soon!
    http://navigatingthemothership.blogspot.com/

    • June 15, 2011 8:01 pm

      Thanks Amy, I’ll be sure to check it out! And I’ve been praying for you daily already. =) The anticipation near the end is just killer!

Leave a Reply

