Skip to content

Bud: Week 30

June 3, 2011

This 30-week photo was taken on the 30th of May in my 30th year of life. I grabbed the Chief from his work in the basement to get a picture with him. He’s the only family member who hasn’t been in a picture yet and he was actually home on a Monday this week. Yea for holidays!

I had some fun Picniking one of the other photos we took.

The Chief also met me at my midwife appointment this week which was a nice surprise since he’s usually working. I continue to measure a week ahead of my due date (31 cm), which is no big deal. I’ve gained 31 lbs and the baby seems to have turned into the head-down position which I’m thrilled about. Having another breech baby is always something that’s been in the back of my mind and Bud has been breech up until now. I will continue to pray that he actually is head-down and that he will stay that way!

This time around I didn’t bring the boys along to the appointment because I wanted to discuss my birth plan and they just don’t do so well having to sit there quietly listening to something they don’t care about. As it turns out, there wasn’t much talking that we did because the midwife was totally fine with everything on my list except for one thing. I knew it was going to be a problem, but I tried anyhow. I requested intermittent electronic fetal monitoring (because I knew at a hospital having none wasn’t even an option). However, because I am a VBAC, they require constant monitoring. My two biggest reasons for disliking the EFM are the immobility it causes and how uncomfortable it is for me to wear. Thankfully, the mobility shouldn’t be a problem since the hospital does have a remote telemetry unit I can use. It’s not waterproof, so I won’t be able to take it in the shower (this hospital doesn’t have tubs…sad about that) but at least I’ll be able to move around better.

It was very refreshing to have the midwife agree with every other point on my plan instead of having to fight for what I want. So, only having to compromise on that one point really isn’t so bad. I’m still working on really accepting that in my heart, because I believe a woman should be able to give birth how she wants to, but unfortunately it just doesn’t always happen that way.

For those of you who have never even heard of a birth plan, or are in the process of creating one, I’m including mine here for you to reference. There are many ways to write one, and this is just how we chose to do it. I like the outline form better than a written paragraph form because it is easier to see at a glance which seems more conducive as to how medical professionals work. It does tend to come across a little more bossy than if it were written out like a story, but when my midwife read it, she said it didn’t seem bossy at all. It is what YOU are requesting, after all!

Birth Plan for

Twighee & The Chief

3rd baby due early August 2011

First Stage

1. I would prefer to wear my own loose-fitting gown.

2. FREEDOM of Movement

a. IV-I don’t mind a heparin lock, but do not wish to be hooked up to an IV for routine fluids unless medically necessary.

b. Since you require constant EFM for VBAC I would like to use the remote telemetry system so that I am not tied down to the bed.

3. TIME to labor

a. I would like to avoid using Pitocin, artificially rupturing the membranes, or any other intervention designed to speed up labor. Corey and I have been coached in The Bradley Method and believe that we can encourage labor using natural techniques. This is also why freedom of movement is so important to us.

b. Please help us to keep a quiet atmosphere and dimly lit room to better relax.

4. NO Pain Medication

a. Please do not offer pain medicine by IV or epidural unless an emergency arises.

Second Stage

1. CHOICE of Position – I welcome suggestions on various positions to help push the baby. I feel strongly about not being flat on back.

2. EPISIOTOMY – I wish to avoid an episiotomy as a “routine” procedure.

Postpartum

1. As long as the baby is not in distress, please place baby on my chest for skin to skin contact and breastfeeding.

2. Please delay cord clamping and cutting until the umbilical cord has stopped pulsing. Corey does not wish to cut the cord.

3. After delivery of the placenta, I would like to look at it when it is examined. I’ve never seen one up close before and I am curious to learn about it.

4. All examinations of the baby should be performed in the presence of Corey or myself.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    June 3, 2011 2:47 pm

    I wish I had done just half of those things with JUST ONE of my pregnancies. (Oh.. and I would totally love to see the placenta…lol)

  2. June 11, 2011 3:23 pm

    Sounds very similar to mine. I did mine in bullet form. I unfortunately had to give in to getting Petocin because I had been in labor too long & the increase of infection was starting to worry the doctor. I also had to unfortunately get fluids because I was spiking a fever. But I was able to go absolutely pain drug free which made me happy. Maybe next time (some day in the hypothetical future) I’ll be able to do it without all the other stuff.

Leave a Reply

