Skip to content

Bud: Week 24

April 24, 2011

I did something kinda crazy this past week. Monkey, Bruiser, and I took a road trip from PA to SC to visit Lois at college while the Chief was away in CA.

Yep. Two preschool boys and pregnant me on the road for 10ish hours. I admit I was little bit concerned as to whether or not I could drive the whole trip myself. I had done a trip like that several times on my own when I was in college, but that was several years ago now and I didn’t have to pacify to energetic boys along the way, nor was I pregnant. I was even more concerned the morning we left, because I was driving on only 4 hours of sleep. I prayed much along the way and God was good. He always is. They boys were INCREDIBLY well behaved. I’m thankful that they are used to long drives since we make the trip to CT once or twice a year. They knew what to expect and I knew how to pack to occupy them during the trip. I had a very sweet time with the Lord while driving through the beautiful mountains of West Virginia listening to a podcast by John MacArthur while the boys napped. It was just the time of quiet reflection that I needed to fuel me the rest of the way.

Visiting Lois and my friend from High School was a wonderful treat. It was an especially good distraction for the boys who were missing their dad while he was away. I’ll write more about the trip in another post.

When we got back I went right to work. We weren’t home for more than 15 minutes before I started a load of laundry. I’m always really bad about unpacking from a trip, so I took the other extreme this time.

The next day was a big housework day for me and also happened to be the day for another weekly Bud picture. So you get to see me in my painting sweats, one of the Chief’s grubby t-shirts and my do-rag. Just keepin’ it real.

The basement job that day was to wipe down the rest of the drywall in preparation for painting. Got myself a nice backache from that one. I love the feeling of getting one step closer to being finished. The paint is purchased and now just needs to be put on. Walls WILL be painted before my parents visit this Wednesday. Just when I was thinking the end was very near, I went and wrote out a basement “to do” list. It’s still about 20 items long. One baby step at a time…

Speaking of baby…I suppose I ought to tell you about baby.

Bud is growing. That’s for sure! Bruiser was the first one (besides me of course) to be able to feel the baby kick by touching my belly. What a nice treat for the Chief to have when he came home from his trip. Nothin’ says “I love you” like a kick from your unborn baby. =) Poor Monkey, the boy who touches and loves on my belly more than anyone else, still hasn’t felt the baby kick. Soon, I’m sure.

I’m not sure what happened yesterday, but I wasn’t feeling so well at all. I still don’t feel quite right today. I’ve been much more winded and had a bit of trouble getting enough air to play my trumpet in church this morning. That happened during both my other pregnancies, but not quite this early as I remember. I wonder if the baby turned and is now head-down instead of the transverse position he’s been in lately. I used to be able to clearly feel the head on my right side and now I can’t feel any ‘hard round parts.’ I’ve been feeling more movement on the lower and upper parts of my belly instead of on the sides where I used to feel it more.

The last two weeks I also attended my first Bradley Childbirth classes. I felt really weird going all by myself for the first class so I asked Squirt’s mom if she would come with me. SO thankful for such a good friend! The first two classes were very good and I’m looking forward to what’s coming next.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 12:39 am

    A road trip. Just you and the boys. Are you Nuts-O? Call me officially impressed, friend! Way to go! We took an 18 hour trip to San Diego last Oct and I was so terrified that the girls were going to struggle (cause me to pull my hair out int he first 15 mintues). But, they were also, surprisingly good. :o) But at least I had Stephen with me, just in case! Haha!

    Sorry you haven’t been feeling great. Bud must be doing some mighty growing. Keep up the good work, momma Kare! You are amazing! Love you!

    • April 25, 2011 1:57 pm

      I remember hearing/seeing pictures of that. I liked your idea of making little surprise bags for them to switch out during the trip. I wanted to try that this time, but ran out of packing time. Certainly something I want to try for our next big trip, whenever that may be!

  2. April 25, 2011 12:40 am

    Oh, and I like your new masthead. Lookin good!

    • April 25, 2011 1:17 pm

      That would be our plum tree in the front. It only blooms for about a week and a half and I knew it was going to happen while we were gone. Sure enough. Made sure to snap some pic’s right when we got back. Good thing too, b/c the rain has knocked just about all the blossoms off now.

Leave a Reply

