Skip to content

I Love Boys!

April 20, 2011

I was rather concerned when I first found out that Monkey was a boy. I was praying for a girl. I didn’t know how to raise a boy and truthfully, I didn’t really like little boys all that much. When I was younger, I much preferred to babysit little girls over little boys. I was a girl after all. (Still am, actually!)

The thing about boys is that they constantly amaze me with what they come up with.

We returned from our trip last night and so today is unpack & catch-up day. I didn’t need more of a mess inside, so I threw the boys out into our mud-laden backyard. (Two dirty boys would be easier to clean up than the tornado they would have left in the house.) I dressed them in their ugly play clothes, had them put on their boots, and sent them out with the instruction to stay in the back & side yard.

When I heard them playing right outside the kitchen door, I peeked out to see what they were up to.

Mud. They were up to mud.

Several buckets of mud scooped out of the puddles from our flooded yard.

What were they doing with this mud?

Why giving my steps a nice mud bath, of course!

Apparently they were on fire and only buckets of mud splashed all about would quench the fire.

I smiled and laughed and took some pictures. =)

When they were done, I stripped them down to their undies before letting them back inside.

I’m not sure what it is about boys and being naked (or mostly naked) that turns them into these crazy little people. They began running around the house like some cross between a wild animal and a super hero.

“Can we please just stay in our underware?”

We wouldn’t be going out until church tonight, so I let them have their wish.

Monkey was the first to put a shirt on only five minutes later, because he was cold. And since Monkey did it, Bruiser followed right behind him.

Next thing I know they’re having races in the hall way in just their shirts and undies. I don’t know why I find that so cute, but I do.

Monkey sat himself on the stool and shouted instructions to Bruiser, who started running. (I have no idea why he kept facing the wall).

Bruiser was delighted to be the only racer, because he won every time.

At the end of the race, he would come back to his “coach” and high-five him.

I love how good of buddies these two are becoming as the gap between their ages seems to be shrinking with time.

When I was pregnant with Bruiser, I prayed that he would be a girl too. The Chief wanted a boy. Since they are so close in age and girls develop faster, he didn’t want Monkey to develop some kind of complex about not seeming older even though he was. I’m so glad God knew what was best for our family.

God still knows what is best for our family. Which is why, boy or girl, Bud will be the perfect fit into the family God has created for us.

Crazy as they are, I sure do love my boys!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 2:34 pm

    Funny – I feel the exact same way about my girls. – I half-heartedly prayed each one would be a boy (we have a family name to carry on as Tim is the only boy for his family all girls and girl cousins!) It felt wrong to pray for that, though, so I never really prayed hard. I am so thankful they are girls and you are right, the age gap is shrinking FAST around here too! Of course, I may still have the complex problem because my little one is going to surpass her sister on size, height, and even some developmental things fast!

Leave a Reply

