Skip to content

Bud: Week 23

April 13, 2011

Yesterday, the boys and I went to The Midwife Center for my monthly appointment. We didn’t meet with the midwife I was scheduled with because she was up all night delivering a baby. Instead I got to meet with the very first midwife that we saw. The appointment went very well. Baby’s heartbeat was in the 140’s which is lower than the 150’s where it has been at, but still healthy. Midwife T (as I’ll call her) had the boys help with all the checking and measuring. They felt around my belly and determined that the head was on my right side (for the moment at least) and she had Monkey squirt the jelly on my belly for the fetoscope. She was going to have Bruiser hold the fetoscope, but he was too shy and just wanted to watch so Monkey got to do that too. Since they knew where the head was, they were able to find the heartbeat immediately. Monkey was so proud of himself for holding the instrument there on my belly “just like a real midwife!” After that, he helped Midwife T measure my belly: 24 cm. Right on target. Monkey told us all he was going to be a midwife when he grew up. Of course, the day before he was going to be a Home Depot employee and tomorrow he’ll be something different. =)

Today, he and Bruiser were still in the midwife groove. They were “doctoring” each other on the couch this morning when Squirt came around the corner looking like this:

She immediately became their new patient.

It looked like so much fun to have a baby in your belly that the boys wanted a turn too.

“I think I’d like to have a real baby in my tummy too, mom. And when he comes out, I’ll call him OoOo.” Monkey told me. (He had his stuffed monkey, OoOo up his shirt.) I’m only mildly concerned…

It’s just a phase, right?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Squirt's mom permalink
    April 13, 2011 11:02 pm

    HAHAHA! this is awesome!

Leave a Reply

