Skip to content

Bud: Week 21

April 1, 2011

It has been one rather hectic week. I’m not really sure why, or what made it that way exactly, but I’ve been behind all week.

My pregnancy highlights of the week are more like lowlights.

You see, I AM ITCHY!!!

I’m an itchy, scratchy, rashy mess!

I don’t have the PUPPPs rash that shows up on your belly and thighs usually in the 3rd trimester. In fact, my torso is about the only place that doesn’t itch.

After a solid week of itchy arms and legs and the appearing of a red rash, I called the midwife to look for relief. She told me I could take Benadryl to help with the itching and that I should see my regular family doctor.

I did just that. The Benadryl did help (not eliminate) the severity of the itching so that I could at least fall asleep better at night. This rash has been what has kept me up the most at night lately. I also got an appointment with my doctor for the next day. (Well, the nurse practitioner anyhow).

Mr. CRNP did not give me such good news though. He said it looked like eczema and unfortunatley couldn’t prescribe any of the meds that relieve that, because of the steroid content. His best suggestion was to stick with the Benadryl and keep the itchy areas well moistened with an OTC cream. So at least for now, I continue to itch and pray and itch and pray.

I pray most that as the weather turns, my usually very dry skin will heal with the extra moisture in the air and I will not have to endure this for the remaining four months of pregnancy I have left.

On the happier side, this new trial has given me an greater appreciation for those that lived back in Bible times and had to deal with all sorts of skin conditions that just couldn’t be treated. I can better understand the discomfort of those who had to suffer with Leprosy, as I imagine it was way more painful to deal with that than the rash that I have.

Anyone have a good recommendation for a cream that would help? Mr. CRNP gave me some suggestions, but I’d love to hear suggestions from people who have actually had eczema problems and have found something that works.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 10:16 pm

    Wow, Kare, that sounds terrible! I am so sorry. I can’t imagine how annoying itchiness must be! I have never experienced that one, but you must be so glad to be a Christian, who can turn to the Lord. Thank goodness for hope! Love you!

  2. Claire permalink
    April 1, 2011 10:43 pm

    Mrs. L, my dad has eczema and he uses something we call “tub o’ stuff.” lol it’s actually a prescription cream called Triamcinolone Acetonide Ointment and it works better than anything else. We have two big tubs of it at our house if you want me to bring some Sunday for you to try. It shouldn’t bother the baby because it’s just an external cream.

    • April 2, 2011 8:13 pm

      Thanks, Claire for the suggestion. I’m sure it works very well, but it is one of the corticosteroids that the doc wouldn’t prescribe for me. Your skin actually absorbs a lot and that’s why he wouldn’t give me a steroid cream. I’m doing alright with the Benadryl for now…hasn’t helped the rash any, but at least keeps the itchyness bearable!

Leave a Reply

