Skip to content

Bud: Week 19

March 15, 2011

It rained this morning. More signs of spring which lift my spirits.

In Bruiser’s storytime at the library last week they sang “Rain, Rain, Go Away.” I never really thought about the lyrics to that song, but for the first time I realized the ingratitude & selfishness that song subtley teaches.

“Rain, rain go away.

Come again another day.

Little ___________ wants to play.”

On that day I did not want the rain to go away. I was thankful for the sign of spring. How selfish to decide that our outdoor playtime (or that of our kids) is more important than the weather that God has planned!

I made up a new version for that song just because it bothered me so much.

“Rain, rain here today.

Soon the spring is on its way

Then outdoors we will play.”

So that all has nothing to do with Bud, but I felt as though I ought to explain why I threw an umbrella in the photo today. I’m looking forward to spring about as much as I’m looking forward to meeting this new baby. (Perhaps even more, just because I know that spring is closer than the baby’s arrival!)

We go this Thursday to have an ultrasound. I still want a surprise. The Chief still wants to find out. Monkey still insists the baby is a girl and her name is Colocity. Bruiser said girl and got mad when we said it might be a boy. Then he said boy. Now it’s back to girl. I don’t think he really cares. I do know this: God knows what our baby is. He made this child. We will find out when we are supposed to find out. I’ll let you know how it all goes on Thursday. =)

“For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.  My frame was not hidden from you,when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me,when as yet there was none of them.”   Psalm 139:13-16

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

