Skip to content

Garden: Step 1

March 14, 2011

My baby steps to Spring:

Short haircut?

April 2009

Check.

Rain?

Check.

Puddles replace snow?

Yep.

Flowers?

Thanks to Squirt’s mom, check! (I sure don’t have any signs of any popping up in my yard yet. Of course it’s been so muddy, I haven’t really looked either.)

Next step? Get the garden ready.

This will be my third year having a vegetable garden. I’m still using the same 8’x8′ one that I built two years ago. I’d like to expand, but since I’ll be in my last trimester during the summer, I don’t think this is the year for that.

In the past I’ve done beans, carrots, zucchini, and cucumbers from seeds straight into the ground. The only one that  didn’t make it was the cucumbers, so I bought some plants to replace them with. I’ve always bought tomatoes already started from the store. This year I’m trying something different. I’m starting my own seeds indoors. Fingers crossed and lots of prayers that they will grow strong enough to be transplanted and still live.

This weekend the boys and I planted cherry tomato seeds, cucumber seeds, and cosmos.

Step 1: Fill the seed containers with soil-less potting mixture. (I dunno much about gardening, but read that this coconut husk stuff is supposed to be good for starting seeds. We shall see!)

Monkey, ever the careful one…

I saved $25 off my order of $50 (or more) from Gardens Alive! Last year I just bought Burpee Organic seeds from Walmart and wasn’t all that impressed with the veggies. The beans were horrible, the cucumbers died, the zucchini was great, and the carrots were only so-so. I figured I’d spend a little more money this year and try a different company and still be able to get organic seeds. I’ll keep you posted as to how these turn out.

Step 2: Spread potting mixture evenly to all cells.

Step 2b: Be curious and check to see if this stuff tastes like dirt even though mom says it is made of coconut husks.

Huh. Go figure, still tastes like dirt. That’s Bruiser for ya! Always has to try it on his own no matter what you tell him. Hard-headed little boy takes after his Mama…

“Ptoooey!”

I do love that he’s not afraid to get dirty.

Can you tell which of the following hands belongs to which boy? These two pictures tell more about their personalities than I could say in 1,000 words.

(Wish that one didn’t come out so fuzzy. That’s what I get for wriggling…)

Step 3: Plant the seeds.

Monkey was good about putting just one seed per hole. I had to keep a close eye on Bruiser. He just wanted to put in handfuls.

Step 4: Water!

Or drown…whatever…the container has holes on the bottom to toddler-proof it, right?

Step 5: Clean up

Guess who was all over this part?

Surprise! Surprise! It’s Mr. Clean-hands himself!

He saw me using this scraper the other day to swipe the flour off the counter and wanted to give it a try with the dirt.

Turned out to be a great way to clean up without making mud.

Step 6: Place cover on seed tray and put in a sunny spot.

We only have two sunny spots in our house: one in the dining room and one in Monkey’s bedroom. Where to put it became pretty obvious.

I told them now we just have to keep it in the sun, check every day to make sure the dirt is still wet, and wait for them to grow!

I went back to finish cleaning up and when I was done, I walked over to the computer only to find this scene:

They were waiting for them to grow, of course!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 5:59 pm

    ADORABLE !!

  2. Squirt's mom permalink
    March 15, 2011 8:14 pm

    I like the whole documentation, but i LOVE the last one of the boys! That’s just great!

    • March 15, 2011 10:45 pm

      My favorite too…Couldn’t have gotten them to pose like that if I tried! Love those right time-right place kind of shots!

  3. jess permalink
    March 17, 2011 6:42 pm

    Reminds me of this scene from A Year with Frog and Toad (saw it on Broadway a few years ago–fabulous!!!)

Trackbacks

  1. Bud: Week 20 « Twighee's Leaves

Leave a Reply

