Skip to content

S is for …

February 11, 2011

S is for School.

And Stickers.

Several Smiley Stickers.

Stars.

Smiley Star Stickers.

S is for Satisfaction.

And Super Silly Smirks.

The boys favorite part of “school time” is creating their new letter. Monkey always does the capital while Bruiser does the lowercase of the same letter.

I got the idea from a friend when we were part way through the alphabet. (That’s why you see “Jj” as the first letter on our wall). She used jelly beans and various other beans to make her letters. I didn’t have either of those at the time, so I just made due with what we had around the house. Then when we got to “Nn” I had an idea. Nails. “I wonder if I could glue little picture hanging nails on the paper?” It worked and ever since then I’ve challenged myself with coming up with an object that started with the same letter we were studying.

N is for Nails

O is for O’s (Cheerio’s)

P is for Popcorn

Q is for Quarters (paper cut-out quarters, that i didn’t have the patience to cut round, so they are sQuare)

R is for Rice

S is for Stickers

T is for Twist-ties

U is for ????

Help! I’m stuck! I keep looking at little things around the house that we can glue on construction paper, but I’m coming up empty. I don’t want to do the sticker thing again (like with umbrella stickers or something), but that’s all I can think of. If you have a good “Uu” idea, I’d love to hear it!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 5:57 pm

    Utensil, Uranus, underarm deodorant, (something) ugly, (something that is) up … that’s all I got.

  2. jen permalink
    February 12, 2011 6:35 pm

    what about UNO cards? i know the regular size ones are probably too big, but could you make small versions of them? i mean, teenie tiny ones. i looked at a list of words that start with U for about 15 minutes (the list is VERY long). finally i came to UNO. thought it had possibilities.

    • February 13, 2011 4:27 pm

      So far my top ideas have been little drink umbrellas’, which I would have to buy and may or may not make the nice rounded bottom shape of the “u;” underware, which I could cut up an old pair into pieces and glue those; and the UNO cards. I could cut those up too, or perhaps just go online to find little UNO Moo guys to cut out pictures of. That last one has some good (and cheap) possibilities.

Leave a Reply

