Skip to content

Bud: Week 12

January 25, 2011

The Chief and I went to my first prenatal appointment at The Midwife Center last week. All went very well and pretty much as I expected.

I will still have to deliver at Mercy hospital and have continuous electronic fetal monitoring during labor. Thinking about having to wear that EFM the whole time still makes me teary if I dwell on it too long. (You can read more about EFM here and here.) The two main reasons I hated it so much during Bruiser’s labor was that it greatly limited my mobility and it bothered me tremendously to have those elastics and probes on my belly. I wish I could better explain my absolute disdain for anything that goes across my pregnant middle. It’s starting already with the pants that I’m wearing. I am eagerly anticipating the warmer weather when I can more comfortably wear dresses and eliminate a waistband altogether. I will be delivering at a different hospital than in the past and thankfully, they have equipment that will allow me to be more mobile instead of staying tethered to the printer. At least one of my reasons for hating the EFM won’t be applicable this time around. The part that bothers me the most is that the biggest reason the hospital requires EFM is for their malpractice insurance. (It doesn’t matter your risk level, every laboring mother has to log at least 20 continuous minutes per hour). It’s the same reason that TMC’s policy is that all VBAC’s have to be delivered at the hospital and not at the birth center. The midwife I saw never said it directly, but I got the impression that she thought the policy stinks too. If their practice is going to be insured, they’ve got to play by the insurance company’s rules. My midwife said “until another more thorough and scientific study is done on VBAC’s this is the policy we have to have.” So reading between the lines and watching her face, it seems like we feel the same way about it at least. Now I just need to come to terms with the fact that I can’t have things go exactly as I please. I’d guess that most women who envision their labor progressing a certain way don’t have it happen that way. I really have to just trust God with this one and believe He will take care of me and guide me through.

Photo credit: Monkey again =) Love that guy.

On a happier note…it was truly amazing to hear another little heartbeat inside me. As soon as the Chief heard it he said it sounded just like a steam train. (Ok, he really said it sounded like Thomas. =) Yes, we have two kids and we say dumb stuff like that. Then I reminded him that the baby “is” a girl, so he corrected himself. “Fine, it sounds like Emily then.” How many engines can you name?) Um, yea…back on the trail….

The rest of the appointment was very similar to the check-up I was used to at the obstetrician with a few exceptions. The first was that the office worker handed me my own chart and I weighed myself and wrote it in. That is what I’m supposed to do at the start of every visit. They are very open there and have nothing to hide from you. I found looking through my chart fascinating. It is a chart all about me, isn’t it? Why wouldn’t you be able to read about yourself?! My OB never let me do that.

Talking with the midwife was much more comfortable than talking with any of my OB’s. I felt like since we already viewed birth the same way (as a natural part of life that doesn’t require routine intervention) that I didn’t have to constantly be on the defensive.

I walked out of the office with a large handbook about their practice and pregnancy and labor tips, brochures for businesses they partner with, a lab-work sheet for all that fun blood-drawing stuff, a referral to schedule an ultrasound a month from now, and a homework assignment for my next appointment.

My homework: to log three “normal” days of eating and activity. They don’t just say “eat right and get moderate exercise” and leave you to figure that out. They had several pages in the handbook of various exercises and nutritious foods to eat. When I go back the midwife will read my log and counsel me on what I’m doing well, and what I should change. I like that. I like that they care enough to help me do right and not just expect me to know on my own, but rather teach me along the way.

So far, I am very pleased with changing care providers!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 3:57 pm

    I was put on a mobile monitor and it was not that bad. Had to drag the IV thing it was sitting on around with me but at the time I’d rather do that then not walk. They actually had a really hard time keeping the heartbeat (as was what happened with all my NST’s). Kiddo would just keep moving and it would get lost. Sounds like a much nicer place then your previous experiences though. I’m glad. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

