Skip to content

Dress-Up Mania

January 21, 2011

You may recall this picture from a few days ago:

And this one from my last post:

So where did all these great costumes come from?

My very own incredible Mama. =)

There was a big box under the Christmas tree at my parents house that was to Monkey, Bruiser, and Squirt. Monkey was so eager to find out what could be inside for all three of them? It was the first gift opened at my parent’s house Christmas day.

I wish I could tell you they were thrilled when they opened the package. They were not. Monkey gave the clothes one look and said something like “What’s all this?” in a rather disappointed tone. To him they just looked like clothes, not toys.

I, however, was in awe at all the work that was put into making such wonderful costumes! It was truly a great present, even if greatly under appreciated at the time.

Even though it went untouched at Christmas, I haven’t been able to keep the kids hands off the dress-up stuff for the last week. Let me demonstrate:

Squirt: in her own creation. I believe she was some kind of princess.

Bruiser: as an Indian

Monkey: surgeon

Pirate Monkey (the only non-homemade costume) & “Bronco” Bruiser (as he kept calling himself) – I couldn’t convince the kid he was a Cowboy, he kept telling me he was wearing a “bronco hat.”

I wasn’t sure what was going on at first when I walked into the room. I thought they were looking for a particular costume piece.

But then I remembered where I had left Sport. (Yes, I confess…sometimes I lose the immobile baby…it’s the kind of life I live!)

Do you see him? Apparently he wanted to play dress-up too!

We had a little talk about suffocating the baby and I showed them what parts were ok  to bury.

It is a rare moment that Squirt isn’t wearing the long red satin skirt…so when he saw it available, Bruiser took the opportunity to dress up as an “angel.”

Like the yogurt stains that have already found their way onto the skirt?

He’s just so beautiful! An angel, indeed!

That yellow hat does get around…

Squirt sure does come up with the most original combinations. Here she has paired the pirate shirt with the yellow safari hat accented by the oversize glasses.

Squirt, you are the winner!

I have no idea what the criteria was, but you definitely hit it!

Mom, thanks for all the work you put into making those. They are very well loved.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 3:55 pm

    I love the tongue sticking out in the last one. Priceless.

  2. Squirt's mom permalink
    January 22, 2011 12:19 am

    I love this post! It’s fun for me to see what the kids look like throughout the day. Oh, and I’m glad Sport didn’t get suffocated in there. 🙂 I laughed so hard! Thanks for being the best babysitter ever!

  3. January 23, 2011 8:13 pm

    Hi! I made it here through facebook. The costumes are great…a very awesome gift! Your mom is an amazing seamstress.
    Congratulations on your new baby on the way!
    Blessings and love~ Shanda

Leave a Reply

