Skip to content

Shhh! Don’t Tell Him It’s Work!

December 6, 2010

Our first snow of the year that actually stuck on  the ground was December 1st. What a fitting day for the first snow! Monkey was over-the-top excited about it when he discovered all the white outside. Five minutes after waking up he was shouting and jumping throughout the house.

“It snowed! It snowed! I can go shovel!!! Mom, can I go shovel now?”

The boy didn’t even want to eat breakfast or get dressed. He just wanted to shovel!

Not one to squelch any desire to do work, I promised him that we could all go out right after breakfast. I let them forgo the usual morning routine of making their beds and brushing their teeth so we could hurry up and enjoy the  snow before it melted.

I remembered how Monkey shoveled last year. He pushed his little shovel around doing nothing useful whatsoever for about two minutes and then was off to go play. I was expecting the same thing this year.

I was wrong.

My Monkey is becoming useful! Actually useful! Not “I’ll come back and re-do this while you’re napping” useful.

He worked on the porch and stairs for a solid 10 minutes before taking a break. What a difference a year makes!

This year he has the strength and coordination to lift and throw the snow instead of just pushing it.

After he did “the big parts” and I did the “finishing touches” he came up with an idea on his own. I never even mentioned anything about it…

“Hey, Mom. Now we can go shovel the neighbors steps too!”

I rarely hear selfless statements like that come out of his mouth, so when he said that, I was shocked!

Maybe some of these ‘think of others’ things I’ve been trying to teach him is actually sinking in!

“That is a wonderful idea, Buddy! Let’s go!” I responded enthusiastically.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Since that day it has snowed more and don’t ya know, the novelty hasn’t worn off yet. He has asked to go out and shovel every day since!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

