Skip to content

Simplify: The Garage

October 4, 2010

The next room on my “Simplify” list is the basement. It’s really the room that needed to be done first, but I just couldn’t bring myself to start such and enormous task, so I started with the kitchen.

I was going to start on the basement today, but as I looked around at all the sawdust and teeny tiny PVC particles on the floor that had been trailed in from our remodeling project, I realized cleaning and organizing the basement first was going to be discouraging if it was going to keep getting so dirty. You see, this lovely tool called a SAW was in the garage right on the other side of the basement door. There was sawdust all over the garage and it keeps getting tracked into the basement.

So, I scrapped the basement cleaning project and exchanged it for a garage cleaning project. It only took a couple of hours to go from this:

To this:

In the process, I took everything (save the Chief’s tool area) that was in the garage and put it in the driveway.

I ended up loading the back of the Chief’s car with trash and unusable wood and hauling it off to the dumpster. I also put one of my strollers on craigslist along with a bike trailer that we only used twice. (Glad I bought that one used in the first place).

Since my garage now looks like this

instead of cluttered with this

I can finally park my car in there for the first time since January!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ruth permalink
    October 4, 2010 1:30 pm

    Awesome job! It looks great and sounds like a fun project.

    • October 4, 2010 2:57 pm

      Thanks. The worst part is just getting started. Once I get going, I love being able to see the results and it all just feels so wonderful at the end. There really is something “freeing” about getting rid of clutter!

  2. Squirt's mom permalink
    October 4, 2010 10:34 pm

    looks great! when we pulled up today, Mark said, “Is it weird that neither car is here???” Then he remembered your garage cleaning.

    • October 4, 2010 11:49 pm

      Monkey was downright giddy about getting into the car in the garage on Sunday morning. I don’t know why he liked it so much. He made me get in the car and close the car door before opening the garage door “so it won’t be too loud.” That boy and his fear of loud noises!

Leave a Reply

