Skip to content

Just a Scratch

September 9, 2010

“Mommy, I had a scratch.”

The phrase seems innocent enough.

An itch is not a big deal.

Until the two-year old tries to fix the itch by means other than using his fingers to scratch it.

You need a little Bruiser history to really get the reasoning behind this story…

Bruiser has inherited my dry skin. The boy’s legs are a mess. On top of all the cuts and scrapes he continually has, his skin is dry and white. He knows that cream helps his legs (the usual source of his itchiness) to feel better. Well, recently he has been telling me that he has been “scratchy” in some, shall we say, more personal areas. Well, lotion certainly wasn’t going to help those kind of itches, so I told him I have a special powder for that. He loved the feeling of the powered as it dusted his body.

Fast forward a few days. I went into his room to tell him that room-time was over and he could come out. I was greeted by a whiter-than-usual Bruiser.

“What did you do?” I asked with wide eyes, taking in the damage across the room.

“I had a scratch.” Was his simple and matter-of-fact reply.

I hugged him. Poor thing was just trying to feel better.

While still embraced, my eyes scanned the room again. There was a fine layer of his good Burt’s Bees Dusting Powder covering every surface. The entire contents of the bottle had been used.

At least it wasn’t a whole bottle of lotion. That would have been even worse to clean. I think. I’m not sure the filter on my vacuum is going to recover from this one!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne permalink
    September 9, 2010 3:17 pm

    but the room will smell nice for a few days!

Leave a Reply

