Skip to content

Loving Lemons

August 31, 2010

The cheery yellow of a lemon adds a pop of color to my bright green & blue kitchen that I just love!

I didn’t realize how much I love having lemons in my house until a few weeks ago when I tried a new recipe that called for a fresh lemon. (I have no idea what that recipe was … why am I so forgetful?)

I bought two lemons feeling that one lemon would be lonely. It just didn’t seem right putting only one lovely lemon in my bag. I’m glad I did, because a wonderful accident was born.

I read somewhere (again, I have no clue where) that lemons are good for cleaning all the built up gunk from the inside of your microwave. Having the extra lemon (and a filthy microwave that I had been putting off cleaning for weeks) I gave it a try. I will never clean my microwave another way again!

Here’s what you do:

1. Cut lemon in half and squeeze the juice of one-half lemon into a microwaveable bowl. Add some water so there is more liquid.

2. Place remaining lemon rind in bowl as well.

3. Microwave on high for a minute to create a good lemony-steam.

4. Dip paper towel in liquid (warning: HOT, do this carefully) and wipe down walls. There is NO scrubbing involved. It all just wipes off SO easily!

5. If it doesn’t wipe off easily, just zap it for a few seconds more, it probably didn’t get steamy enough. You’ll be left with a shiny clean, fresh smelling microwave.

When your finished you can still put that same lemon to use. Cut the lemon half into chunks and throw it down your garbage disposal with some hot running water. It sounds good to me, but I have to admit that my lemons went to freshen up my trash can because I don’t have a garbage disposal. =(

And now what to do with that last half of lemon? Well, if you ask Monkey or Bruiser the answer is the same every time. “Wemonade!”

I have no idea how to really make lemonade. Monkey saw the lemons and asked to make lemonade, so I said “Sure! But I’m not really sure how to so it might not taste good. But we can try.”

And try we did.

Squeeze the juice out.

One whole lemon made one tall glass of juice which the three of us shared.

Monkey knew right what to do without me even telling him.

“Did I get it all?”

Add some sugar. I have no idea how much “some” is. And fill the glass with water.

Give it a good stir. Pour into separate glasses and

drink it up! WAY better than some powder mix!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

