Skip to content

She’s Back!

August 27, 2010

There have been a lot of changes in our house over the last few weeks. It’s part of the reason I decided to stop blogging for a time. The first change you will notice is right here with the look of the blog. I figured it was time to switch things up a bit. I haven’t been able to re-arrange the furniture around the house, so this is the next best thing!

Part of my time away was spent actually writing down some ideas for new posts. (Instead of thinking of them and not writing them, then promptly forgetting). I’m going to try and write a weekly book review as well. Sometimes it will be a children’s book, sometimes an adult book. While the primary goal of my blog is to keep memories for myself and share them with out of town family and friends, I’ve also wanted to have some posts that would appeal to those who don’t know me or my kids. I’d like to be an encouragement to those readers too. So while most of the posts will continue to be about our kids milestones, mishaps, and memorable moments, I’ll be throwing in some stuff that isn’t about the kids once a week or so too.

The biggest reason for my time off was just needing to spend some time away from others and with my Lord. He has been teaching me a great many things lately. After really studying His Word, I’ve found several things that need to be changed in my life. I’ll be sharing some of those with you in the weeks to come.

During my hiatus, the munchkins still enjoyed the remainder of summer. Here are a few pictures to catch you up.

Swimming lessons wrapped up and I brought my camera on the last day promising to snap at least a few pictures of the experience. (I had to participate in Bruiser’s class, so I was never around to take any pictures. Class was at 10:30 am, so the Chief couldn’t even be there to help out).

This is Monkey and his teacher, Miss Melissa, who was SO good with the kids. Wow, I want to have Mom skills like her…and she’s still in high school!

Monkey was so sad after getting to go down the slide, because he wanted to go again but was only allowed to go once. I was just so happy that Mr. Timid wanted to do it again!

At the end of each class, Miss Melissa led them in a little cheer to dismiss them before they got out to go find their parents.

Neither of the boys wanted it to end. The tears are from having to get out of the water. Such a turn-around from last year!

Of course, getting a popsicle from the Instructor helped. Boy was I thrilled about that! I had just gotten them all dressed, because we needed to go out shopping and they get handed rocket pops! So I put on my Mom-thinking-cap and came up with this arrangement:

A few weeks later I sent the two of them out to the backyard to play by themselves. I kept peeking at them through the kitchen window while I washed dishes. In between peeks, I heard a SPLASH! When I looked out the window again I saw:

They had jumped on top of their pool into the rainwater than had collected on the cover. You’ll notice they are wearing pants. It was just barely 70 degrees that morning. I watched them for about ten minutes before saying anything.

I just couldn’t bear to stop all the fun they were having. That’s the fun of being a kid, isn’t it?

After I let them romp for a while,  we had a little talk about not going into the pool without asking first. Then I placed my shivering goofballs into a warm tub while I washed their soaking wet clothes.

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned it not too long ago, but just in case you forgot: I LOVE SUMMER!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

