Skip to content

Don’t Try This On Your Thirtieth!

August 4, 2010

Yesterday was our 8th anniversary. I wasn’t planning on celebrating it until Saturday when we are going out to my favorite restaurant, The Melting Pot. However, we got a surprise night out when our neighbors insisted on babysitting for us. How can you say no to that? While I wasn’t planning on giving him my gift until Saturday, the Chief certainly made plans to give me mine on our actual anniversary.

He wrote me eight love notes and left them in different places all around the house for me to find. He tried to put them in places where I would slowly stumble upon them as I went about doing my household tasks. More or less it worked, and by noon I had found six of the cards. (Well, Bruiser found one, and Monkey found another). Boy I tell ya, it sure kept a smile on my face through the day!

After finally finding the eighth one in our couple’s devotional book right before going to bed, I took all my cards and lined them up like a little love gallery. I felt like a little girl lining up her much loved dollies to play with, except this time I was playing with real tokens of love.

Each card the Chief wrote had a different theme somehow celebrating me, our marriage, or the God that joined us together. The card that made me smile the most was this one:

Among other things, it said

A big part of being happy in marriage is learning to accept and celebrate each others differences and using them to grow a deeper love. God made us each so very different and when He matches two people up they have the potential to make quite a difference for Him.

Thank you, Lord, for allowing me to marry this most amazing man!

Thank you, Chief, for a most memorable & love-filled anniversary!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 1:48 pm

    Ryan left me 101 hearts one day (with a sign on the shower that said “101 reasons I love you”. I think that was in the wintertime, and I just found the last one a few weeks ago. I love surprises like that! 🙂
    Happy Anniversary!!!

Leave a Reply

