Skip to content

A Quiet Lunch for Mom

July 14, 2010

“…if any would not work, neither should he eat.”  2 Thessalonians 3:10

With a 2 and 3 year old in our house this means that before you eat breakfast you are to get dressed and make your bed. Before lunch and dinner, your toys are to be picked up.

We only started doing the breakfast routine a month ago and they are getting better at doing it without whining. The exception to this is Sunday morning when the Chief is in charge of breakfast and we prefer to put their good clothes on as late as possible to keep them clean.

They are also pretty good about cleaning up their toys before meals. The exception to this is with legos. As much as I love the creativity they bring out when played with, a battle ensues nearly every time it comes to cleaning them up. I warn them when we bring the bucket out that it would be better if they did not dump the bucket. They have not yet learned.

I don’t fight this battle anymore. I simply remind them what the Bible says about working before you eat and send them to their rooms to clean up with the reminder that

“I do not want to see you or talk to you until you can tell me ‘Mom, my room is clean!’ Then you may come and eat lunch.”

I sent them to their rooms 30 minutes ago.

Bruiser started cleaning.

Monkey started playing.

15 minutes later lunch was ready and on the table.

“Boys! Lunch is on the table. When your toys are picked up, you may come eat.”

It has now been 4o minutes since they started cleaning and 25 minutes since lunch was put out.

The bread is crusty.

The applesause is warm.

I’m glad I didn’t pour the milk yet.

I wonder who will be the first to the table?

Or will I find one of them passed out on their floor?

Well, my belly is full. I think I’ll go read a book until one of them shows up…

*UPDATE* You can read the happy and sad ending to this battle here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

