Skip to content

Ever Put $15 In Your Toilet?

July 4, 2010

This year for my birthday I told the Chief I didn’t want him to buy me anything. All I wanted him to do was to let me have a day to myself while he watched the kiddos. I’m sure he was relieved that he didn’t have to think of what to get me and was mostly happy to stay home with the kids. =)

Friday was a wonderful day. I got my hair cut and then went to get a mani-pedi. It was a most wonderful time alone. All ten of my fingernails were long enough for a french manicure. I never have all ten nails long enough. Inevitably when I think I can do it, one will break. I didn’t even have a french manicure for my wedding day. So I got my first one. I felt so pretty on Friday! After my hair and nails, I did a little dress shopping before going home to get ready for my hot date.

I got more praise about my haircut and dress from Monkey than anyone else. He was simply swooning over me. It was kinda weird actually. Bruiser wouldn’t come near me. I guess losing three inches and getting some pseudo-bangs was enough for him to think I was a different Mommy. The chief offered most of his praise later throughout the evening.

No one, of course, thought to take a picture of me. I’m not even sure my camera would do that…I think my camera only knows how to take pictures of cute kids…  😉

So the point of that whole story is to get to this. (I think my stories require too much background info…I’ll have to try and work on this).  Saturday was always intended to be a work day around the house. Friday = fun day. Saturday = slave day.

I did this:

and this:

(Yes, Laura, we finally finished painting our house that we started 3 years ago).

and this:

(This would be 5 tons of fill dirt to build up our hill to fix the water leakage).

and some other yard work type things that I didn’t take pictures of because, ya know…I was busy taking pictures of our tiger lilies working.

Hey! I said working! Oh nuts. I don’t have any other pictures of me working…

Right, back to the story.

So after doing all that wonderful work around the yard, do you know what happened?

Will someone please cry with me? I couldn’t even make it last 24 hours.

Now I remember why I don’t get manicures.

But my toes still look great!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2010 10:17 pm

    Oh, sad! I am crying with you! But on the other hand, you totally enjoyed your time on Friday…it was worth it even if it didn’t last 24 hours!!!
    Happy birthday!

  2. July 6, 2010 9:51 pm

    I’m crying with you too! I would get French manicures in high school and then ruin them trying to peel off sale stickers at CVS. (My second high school job.)

    Your tiger lilies are GORGEOUS! Happy late birthday! 🙂

    • July 7, 2010 12:33 pm

      Thanks for the sympathy! =) And actually your birthday wishes are just on time…my birthday is tomorrow (I celebrated a week early). 30 – gulp! I’m having more trouble with this birthday than I thought I would!

  3. Squirt's mom permalink
    July 7, 2010 11:57 pm

    so sad! glad you got to have fun AND get lots done this weekend. Sorry we didn’t get your text about borrowing the truck until it was too late on Saturday!

Leave a Reply

