Skip to content

A Different Kind of Clean

June 25, 2010

My house isn’t lookin’ so pretty these days…on the inside, that is. There is laundry piled on the couch, clean dishes in the dishwasher, dirty dishes filling the sink, towels all over the bathroom floor, crumbs under the table (which means ants too), and toys scattered here and there. The problem, you see (aside from the obvious disarray in my house) is that I’m not IN my house to clean it! Summer kinda does that to me. I LOVE summer! And when either of my boys asks if they can play outside, the answer is “yes” almost every time. Today, that happened at 8:45 this morning.

I haven’t been slacking off, though. My house IS clean! The outside, anyhow. =) My vegetable garden has no weeds, I planted more herbs and some begonias, trimmed the hedges and azalea bush, mowed the front and most of the back lawn, and emptied out the pool which was filled with nasty grass and bugs.

I even got the boys to help pick up sticks while I mowed! All it took was some game rules and two dump trucks.

For every stick they put in their truck I promised them a push on the swing. They were picking up twigs like crazy…then we counted their “twig tickets” and I delivered on my promise.

So, while my house is far from sparkling, at least it’s not getting any dirtier…

…we left all the lunch crumbs outside this time.

So come on over and visit…the backyard!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

