Skip to content

My Work Here is Finished

June 17, 2010

I most certainly wasn’t expecting to be blogging tonight, much less about Bruiser’s potty training again.

But, I just can’t help myself. I’ve got one amazing potty trainee! On day two of PT, Bruiser had ZERO accidents!!! He did have 3 pair of underwear that needed changed because he dripped a little bit before he caught himself and told me he needed to go. I don’t call that an accident, I call that learning to control your bladder muscles. Here is what my baby big boy achieved today:

1.) He stayed clean and dry ALL night. He last peed around 9 pm. I woke him before I went to bed at 11 pm and he went in the potty. I woke again at 4 am when the Chief had a coughing fit. I went in to check on him and he was still dry. I woke him again and he went right away. He awoke on his own at 7:30 am still dry.

2.) He told me every time he needed to go. He keeps saying “have go poops,” but he means pee every time.

3.) He stopped playing with his trains to tell me he had to go.

4.) He developed such good muscle control that he figured if he only went half way then stopped he would get a treat and then could finish going only 10 seconds later and get another treat. Candy sure is a powerful motivator for him!

5.) He had his first poop on the potty with no reservation or complaint. After examining it in the toilet water, he told me it was a poop-fish.

6.) Stayed clean and dry for a 2 hour nap.

7.) Went pee on command when I told him we always need to try and go before bed-time. It took a minute, but he did it.

8.) Insisted that I stay out in the hall so he could do it himself. He took his underwear off, climbed on the toilet himself (I have him sit on the adult seat facing the back to take care of aiming issues), went, and got off himself too. Then he wouldn’t let me help him put his underwear back on. He ended up with both legs in the same hole and proceeded to fall flat on his hiney. Then he asked for help.

He’s pretty much got this whole potty thing in the bag! The only thing I’m good for is handing out the treats! I’m praying it sticks and losing the “newness factor” over the next few days doesn’t cause a regression. But, be assured, I’m sticking this one through!

My experience with Monkey was TOTALLY different and absolute torture! I think the biggest help was that Bruiser really wanted to learn how to go. He has been asking to do it since March. You can’t just wait around for your kid to want to do it though. Not every kid will want to learn how. Just like not every kid wants to learn math. The kids that want to learn math end up getting a better grasp of it. Every kid doesn’t want to learn math, but every kid needs to. Same thing with potty training. I’m very thankful that I got at least one kid that wanted to learn.

The other thing that helped out tons today was that I was able to get Monkey out of the house. He went over to Squirt’s house and I was able to focus solely on Bruiser. It was a wonderful day lacking in all sorts of whining and complaining. Oh, that Monkey…boy is he a whiner! I’m not sure what to do with him anymore. I’m sensing a future post coming on….

To finish my PT story, I will continue to wake Bruiser about 2 hours after he falls asleep at night and then again in the middle of the night until he can hold it all night or wake himself to go.

Since I’ll be up doing that, I figured now was the best time to try and re-train Monkey. I tried night-training Monkey in the beginning too, but he wasn’t getting it at all. After about 3 weeks of changing bedsheets 4x a night I gave up and did pull-ups. Monkey still doesn’t stay dry for naps or bed even though he can hold it 4-5 hours during the day.

Tonight, I set out his plastic-covered crib mattress that had been put away and sent him to bed with no pull-up. I’m playing the brotherly competition card and telling him that Bruiser is learning to stay dry at night and he can too. If I’m up at night with one, I might as well be up with both, right? I give this night-time thing 3 weeks until we go on our vacation. If they don’t have it by then, I’ll probably quit.

And thus endeth the potty training of the second child.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 3:49 am

    Yay! I’ve thought about trying this summer with K, but she is not interested at all! So, we’ll see. I’m interested in the 3 day plan, though. You really like it?

    • June 18, 2010 12:12 pm

      “like” might be a little strong…but I’m not sure that I would like any potty training program that didn’t have the kid trained on the first day with no accidents. =) I’m pretty sure most kids just don’t learn that fast though. Monkey was a real struggle to teach, Bruiser was a breeze…I used the same method for both, so I really think a lot has to do with the kid. The ebook is $25 and comes with mentoring which I used a lot with Monkey. I just didn’t want the process to drag on so I figured I’d give it a try and she has a 100% guarantee so I figured it was at least worth a shot! It was only 3 days of my life, right? This method recommends training between 22-24 months as the optimal age. She states that over 2.5 years it is much harder to break the diaper habit. She also goes into signs of readiness in her book so you have a better idea of when to start and what you need. If you have any more questions, I’d be happy to answer the best I can.

Leave a Reply

