Skip to content

Golfer Boys

April 19, 2010

I didn’t go out and buy new Easter outfits for the boys because the cheapest thing I could find was a 3-piece set (pants, shirt & vest) for $17.99. And while that’s not such a bad price, I’m used to buying outfits like

for $5.00 at Kid Stuff sales. I’ve reached a whole new level of frugal, I know.

Anyhow, I rifled through the boys closets and found near-matching outfits that weren’t overly wintery. I figured if I rolled up the long sleeves and paired it with some dressy flip-flops I could get them looking springy enough. Then while we were out shopping the Old Navy clearance racks I saw a bunch of cute hats for baby boys. None were big enough for my boys, though. We were all a bit disappointed now that we had talked a great deal about “church hats.” As we left the Old Navy I think I was the most disappointed of all of us. The hats were just so cute and they boys were not only willing, but excited to wear them!

As I buckled them into the car, the store next to Old Navy caught my eye. The Children’s Place. “No, it’ll be way too expensive and I just buckled everyone in,” I said to myself as I turned the key and started to back out of the space. But after driving about 2 feet I reasoned with myself that I might as well just peek inside while I’m here. I’m not in any rush to be somewhere, so just go now. And so I pulled into a parking space only three away from the one I just pulled out of.

Well, it turned out to be a good choice. They had cute “church hats” in the boys sizes that matched their outfits perfectly. So I dropped the $6.50 a piece for hats that they promised to wear. Unfortunately Monkey was quite sick on Easter Sunday so I sent Bruiser to church in a different outfit. But the next week my little golfer boys were ready to look handsome. Hats on, boys!

Alright, now give me a cool pose.

Ok, forget that. You look ridiculous. Hey, Bruiser! Get back here and just stand nice, will ya?

Is that the best you’ve got?

Yea, ok. I see we’re done here. How about just one hug and then we’ll be done. Please?

Awe, thanks guys.

Yes, you’re done now. Go get in the car for church.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

