Skip to content

The Grocery Game

April 5, 2010

I started this thing called The Grocery Game a couple of months ago. It’s basically a service that takes the store sales and pairs them with current coupons to give you the best deals. I did a month free trial and was hooked. I could see that it would involve a little bit of “start up time” to really get going. I’ve been doing it for two months now and am on a roll! Here’s my haul from CVS today.

I forgot to take the 2-pack of Reeces PB Cups out of the fridge for the pictre. They were included in the purchase as well.

To buy these things would have cost me $39.72 this week. (Those are the sale prices, otherwise it would have been $49.39!) Using manufactures coupons, CVS coupons, and CVS Extra Care bucks from the previous week, I only spent $16.66 out of pocket. AND get this…I got $18 in CVS Extra Care Bucks to spend on anything next shopping trip! That’s kind of like making $1.34.

Last week I only spent $0.65 out of pocket and got $7 Extra Care Bucks back.(Those $7 were applied toward this weeks trip.)

I do the same thing with my groceries. I save no less than 50% on just about every shopping trip. I buy ONLY things that are on sale and have a coupon. After I do my grocery game trip to my local grocery store (Giant Eagle), I plan my weekly menu at home and then make a supplementary shopping trip to Walmart to fill in the weeks nutritional holes.

There is a cost for playing The Grocery Game. They charge $10 every two months for the first store and $5 for each additional store. For me, that means I pay them $1.80 every week to tell me what the good deals are. I save WAY more than that each week. It’s kind of like buying the Sunday paper for $1.50 every week when you only do it to get the coupons. As long as you use more than $1.50 in coupons each week, it’s worth it.

The other aspect of cost is time. It takes me about an hour to select the deals for two stores, find and sort the coupons and then make my menu afterward. I love doing it. It makes me feel good every week that I am contributing to our family in this way. Since I don’t have an income this is one way I can still participate in families finances.

Just so you know, I am not being asked by The Grocery Game or anyone involved with it to write about this. I am doing so solely because I think it is a wonderful tool! If it is available in your area, I highly recommend giving it a try. The first month is free after all!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 7:09 pm

    Ugh! I went to look into the Grocery Game and maybe to sign up. They only have 2 stores in our area. I could use the help with Rite Aid, but I only go to Shaw’s for really good deals. I need to move to a place with more stores!!!!!

    • April 5, 2010 7:34 pm

      Amy – that’s how I felt about our grocery store here…only go for the really good deals. I was skeptical because I used to do all my grocery shopping at walmart b/c the Giant Eagle (our major grocery store) was way more expensive. But when you match the deals with the coupons at the right time, it is even cheaper than walmart…by quite a bit. You just have to stockpile when you get a good deal and get out of the habit of buying stuff like cereal every week. I hardly ever pay more than $1.50/box of name brand cereal. Give the free trial a shot! They even send you a reminder email if you want to cancel before your month is up so you won’t be charged. =) I really liked that they do that, unlike so many other scammy companies that try to charge you like crazy after a free trial.

Leave a Reply

