Skip to content

Drowning in Spring

March 11, 2010
tags: , ,

I LOVE spring! I know it’s not here yet, officially, that is. But in my mind, spring is oh so here! I took down my jingle bell wreath yesterday. (Please don’t yell at me, I know! I know!) I’ve got a good excuse for the Christmas lights, though.

They are still locked firmly away inside this lovely ice dam. It has been in the 50’s and 60’s every day this week and my gutters have been dripping constantly, but the ice still lingers.

I wish I’d taken a picture of the massive glacier a few days ago. It was overhanging the edge of the house by a good six inches.

The kids have been begging to play out in the back yard for weeks now. Monkey knows that he can go play baseball in the back when the snow melts. I’m starting to regret making that promise. The near 30 inches of snow we got this winter is turning my backyard into quite the swamp.

Our yard doesn’t drain very well because we have this awful clay for soil. (It also means that there is still a large puddle in the dirt hole in my basement). I’m thinking I’ll let the boys go out in the yard, but make them go barefoot. I’ll guess they won’t last long since the water is still pretty cold. Unless I go get them rubber boots, there’s just no way I’m letting them get their shoes all muddy.

See the strip of melted snow in the middle there? No, a path wasn’t shoveled out. That’s all runoff. It’s one sloshy mess that goes right down into the street.

This “road river” has been going strong all week. See the little wormy there on the right? Poor guy just couldn’t hang on…current washed him away.

This is my lovely azalea bush. It blooms so pretty each spring. I was thinking that it might look even more lovely with all the snow we got, but now I’m not so sure. The branches have been knocked over for so long with the weight of the snow. Last spring we put in a new retaining wall and steps and did a little bit of landscaping in the front. I bought a second azalea bush to mirror the existing one on the other side of the front porch. I just bought a little one thinking that I’d just keep pruning the big one and in a few years it would catch up to the bigger one.

Now I’m not so sure. Can you see the bush? No, me neither. It’s under there somewhere.

I have my windows open AGAIN today! My house was starting to smell really stale after being closed up all winter long. Monday was a rather cranky day for me and with each passing day since then both the weather and my mood have become more sunny. Thank you, Lord, for bringing spring! I can’t wait to see all the lovely things that will bloom and grow out of this mucky mess that I see now.

“The LORD will open to you his good treasury, the heavens, to give the rain to your land in its season and to bless all the work of your hands.” -Deuteronomy 28:12

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 4:54 pm

    I thought I was the only one with such a muddy yard. But I don’t have the snow anymore. Thank you for the reminder to be thankful!

    I DO have buds on my trees already! : )

Leave a Reply

