Skip to content

He’s Better With a Hammer

March 8, 2010

I spent some Mom & son time baking with Bruiser today. It’s not often that we get to do things alone together. Somehow Monkey always seems to weasel his way into our together times. Today I took advantage of the time when Monkey was playing a game on the computer to bake some brownies with Bruiser.

First he dumped half the mix onto the counter. Thankfully, the other half landed in the bowl, not the floor. Next he dumped half the water on the counter as he splashed the other half in the bowl. I’d learned my lesson after the second miss and held his hand as we both poured the oil in. Success! I cracked the egg into a liquid measuring cup and let him pour that in while I watched carefully. I could see that he was going to miss the bowl again so I quickly pushed the cup closer. However, in my vigor we managed to fling the yolk and most of the white on the counter clear on the other side of the bowl. All would have worked out great if I’d just left the ingredients on the counter. . . we could have just mixed it right there with our fingers! Oi, was I frustrated! I grabbed the rubber scraper and scootched the egg into the bowl. (Aren’t you so glad you didn’t eat dinner at my house tonight?) After mixing it together and pouring the batter into the pan, I handed my hard worker the spoon to lick as I said a prayer for the brownies to actually come out of the oven in an edible fashion. Thank you, Lord, for hearing my prayer! My $0.80 brownie mix turned out to be quite resilient to toddler measuring.

I think the next time we cook, I’ll go back to this:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

