Skip to content

My Words Came Back to Get Me

February 28, 2010

Monkey was being especially slow in getting ready this morning. He came into the bathroom while I was drying my hair to “take care of business.” When he was done, I sternly reminded him to “get dressed for church right now.”

“Are you talking nicewy, Mommy?” he asked in the sweetest way possible.

Ouch. He got me. He got me good. We’ve been focusing on speaking sweetly lately in regards to not whining and asking instead of telling. I had to stop and ask him to forgive me. He did so willingly and then instructed me to “try it again.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 5:54 pm

    I was reading this great, inspiring blog, then I said, HEY! I know that little boy! Then, HEY! I know that guy! And finally, LOOK! There she is in the snow!

    I really didn’t know this was you! I love it! : )

    The “sweet voice” is a real challenge to my youngest (2.5). I can ask him, “How do you speak to Mommy?” And he can virtually scream/ cry/ howl back with the red face and squinty eyes , “SWEE-EE-EETLY!! I TALK NI-I-I-I-ICELY!”

    *sigh*

    THAT, my friend, is why I love reading you so much. You are a great reminder of perservering in patience through these difficult lessons.

    • March 2, 2010 8:39 am

      Thanks for the kind words. =) It’s always nice to know that many of our struggles are things that every parent deals with too.

  2. Squirt's Mom permalink
    March 1, 2010 10:43 pm

    hahaha! nice. dontcha love when they know how to get you? 🙂 At least it’s not on purpose to be a smart alec…yet.

Leave a Reply

