Skip to content

Monkey Milestone

February 24, 2010

Now that Monkey is 3 years old (and 2 months). He’s accomplished all those “baby milestones” and is working on a few toddler ones like putting on his own shoes and snapping his pants. Yesterday was another milestone day for my not-so-little Monkey.

While in a waiting room he looked over and said,

“E-X-I-T. That spells exit.”

I was so proud of my little guy. It’s the first word he’s actually read on his own. I know it’s just a sight word that he has memorized from seeing it so often while we are out, but it made me happy nonetheless that he is starting to recognize groups of letters as words. To be sure he wasn’t just reading the word with the context of the door under it, when we got home I wrote ‘exit’ on a piece of paper and asked if he could read it to me. He did. *Proud Mama*

One Comment leave one →
  1. Squirt's Mom permalink
    February 25, 2010 9:25 pm

    woohoo! way to go Monkey!

Leave a Reply

