Skip to content

Not Our Usual Morning Routine

February 1, 2010

I woke up this morning to Bruiser calling “Daddy, get me. Daaaaaaddyyyyyyy! Come, pwease!” I just laid there in  my warm bed listening to his cute little calls. We have taught our children to stay in bed until we come and get them out. This morning after only two calls, I heard Bruiser fiddling with the door knob. (We’re still working with him actually staying in bed and waiting.) Here’s what I heard next:

Thump, thump, thump, thump down the hall all the while calling for Daddy.

Thump, thump, thump, thump into the family room. “Daaaaddyyyyy! Whea awe ewe?”

Thump, thump, thump, thump into the bathroom. “Peek-a-goo! Nope.”

Thump, thump, thump, jiggle, wriggle, pop, my door flies open. I close my eyes and pretend to still be sleeping. Long silent pause as he scans the bed with his eyes. I feel like I’m in a movie being hunted by an evil robot and if I don’t move he won’t see me.

I’m pretty sure he saw me. It didn’t matter. I wasn’t who he was looking for.

From the next room over we both hear the call of the Monkey. “Daddy, Come and get me. Daddy. Come and get me, please!” (We can never manage to get a “please” on the first call).

Bruiser turns and goes to get his brother out of bed. I listen to a good ten minutes of wrestling and playing before they come and jump on my bed.

FAST FORWARD 5 more minutes of goofing off in my bed. After a request for breakfast, I tell Monkey he can go and get it.

He knows how to push a chair over and climb up onto the counter then open the cabinets to get the bowls and cereal. Things seem to be going very well as I listen to the two of them talking while Monkey climbs up to get the cereal.

Bruiser is now back in my bed playing with me while Monkey is getting our breakfast. Then comes the wailing from the kitchen.

“Monkey, bonk.” says Bruiser as he hits himself in the head.

“I think you’re right, kiddo.”

“Monkey? Are you ok?” I yell from the bed.

“Owie!”

“Come here and I’ll give you hugs and kisses.”

“I c-c-c-can’t! I-I-I- I’m stuck!”

“What are you stuck on?”

“Bruiser moved my chair and I can’t get down.”

I looked over at Bruiser and he just smiled back with that devious little smile of his. Ooo, he’s a clever little thing!

I guess that explains why he came running back into my room so quickly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

